Investigator Award

The Investigator/Auditor Resource Committee accepts submissions for the ARELLO Investigator of the Year Award. Presented annually, the award recognizes the recipient's investigative skills and accomplishments as reflected by the year's most outstanding investigation. Don't miss the opportunity for international recognition of the hard work and expertise of investigators/auditors in your jurisdiction.

In addition to the international recognition of being named as the ARELLO Investigator of the Year, the winner will also receive a distinctive award and free registration to the ARELLO Investigator Workshop including travel, lodging and meals [not to exceed (US) $2,000]!

Submitting Nominations

Submissions open in March and close July 1 each year. Entries received by the deadline will be reviewed by the awards subcommittee, which will select one auditor or investigator who is currently serving an ARELLO member jurisdiction, according to the following criteria: Audit/Investigative Techniques, Innovation, Use of Resources, Jurisdictional Violations Discovered, Complexity of Case, Documentation of Evidence, Interview Skills, Creativity, and Report Writing Skills.

Required submission documentation includes:

  • A copy of the investigative report or other narrative;
  • A supervisor's letter approving the submission and listing why the investigation is significant and should be selected; and
  • A copy of the order or final disposition of the case

Please Note: If any submitted material is confidential and only to be reviewed by the subcommittee, please mark the material "Confidential".

Submissions should be emailed to Documentation submitted as attachments should not exceed 20MB. If you need to send more than 20MB, consider using a cloud service like Dropbox, Google Drive or WeTransfer. Hardcopy submissions are no longer accepted.

Remember, submissions open in March and close on July 1 each year.

Award Recipients

Investigator of the Year
  • 2020 – Carolynne Dionese-Wright
  • 2019 – Roy Minton (Texas)
  • 2018 – Spier Holloman (North Carolina)
  • 2017 – Brenda Bryant (Ohio)
  • 2016 – Bruce Wooley (Texas)
  • 2015 – Peter E. Bale (Oregon)
  • 2014 – Stephen L. Fussell (North Carolina)
  • 2013 – Michael Gray (North Carolina)
  • 2012 – Jason Whitney ( Montana)
  • 2011 – Robin Jones (Washington)
  • 2008 – Pamela Milward (North Carolina)
  • 2007 – Jo Ann Swain (Toronto)
  • 2006 – Jennifer Boger (North Carolina)
  • 2005 – Carlotta Knox (Colorado)
  • 2004 – Michael Gray (North Carolina)
  • 2003 – Dan Gilliland (Alberta)
  • 2002 – Robin Tanner (North Carolina)
  • 2001 – Denise Hoage (Washington)
  • 2000 – Gary Caddell (North Carolina)
  • 1999 – Ronald J. Zito (Illinois)
  • 1998 – David Pierce (Kansas)
  • 1997 – Sean Kinilau (Hawaii) and Michael Johnson (Illinois)
  • 1996 – Sandra Wells (Colorado)
  • 1995 – Reese Kimmons (Texas)
  • 1994 – Walter L. Smith (Washington)
  • 1993 – Keith Martin (Alberta)
  • 1992 – Micheal Schnieder (Washington)
  • 1991 – Charles S. Carter (North Carolina)
  • 1990 – Thomas Fuchs (Colorado)