Certain jurisdictions require ARELLO Certification for distance education courses while other jurisdictions simplify and expedite the application process that have our certification and/or hold ARELLO Certification in high esteem.

Although course content is still approved by each jurisdiction, ARELLO Certification helps to remove barriers to course approval in the following states:

Jurisdictions that Recognize ARELLO Certified Courses:

  • Alabama* (Required for primary providers only.)
  • Alaska
  • Alberta
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas* (Required for primary and secondary providers.)
  • British Columbia
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut* (Required for primary providers only.)
  • Delaware*
  • District of Columbia*
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho*
  • Indiana (Requires certification from an approved entity that certifies distance education design and delivery.)
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana*
  • Maine
  • Manitoba
  • Michigan* (Required for primary and secondary providers; other alternatives for obtaining compliance may be available, contact the regulatory agency for more information.)
  • Minnesota* (Required for real estate prelicense courses taught by proprietary providers.)
  • Mississippi*
  • Missouri (Highly recommends certification.)
  • Montana*
  • Nebraska* (Required for primary and secondary providers.)
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • New York* (Required for primary and secondary providers.)
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota*
  • Nova Scotia
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon*
  • Pennsylvania* (Required for primary providers only.)
  • Saskatchewan
  • South Carolina*
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee* (Required for primary providers only.)
  • Texas
  • Utah (Certification is endorsed.)
  • Vermont*
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia*
  • Wyoming*

* Requires ARELLO certification for each distance education course prior to approval.

Disclaimer: The information on this page is provided based upon self reporting from the member jurisdiction of ARELLO. It is not guaranteed to be accurate as ARELLO may not always be aware of policy changes made by regulatory agencies. If the information on this page is not correct, please contact ARELLO for immediate correction.

(Please contact the applicable jurisdictional office for more information about ARELLO certification requirements).